Understanding Tests and Levels

This section outlines the testing structure and pathways for ice skating, for recreational as well as competitive skaters.

ISA Figure skating tests begin at the Preliminary level and end with the Senior level tests.

In order to compete at a certain level, skaters must pass the test that is at the level at which the skater wishes to compete. For example, in order to compete in Basic Novice A or B, skaters must pass the Basic Novice Pattern and Program tests.

Adult Skaters are required to complete a pattern test for the level they are competing at.  However there are no technical test requirements.


Basic Novice

Advanced Novice



Ice Dance

Preliminary Pattern Dance Test

Elementary Pattern Dance Test

Basic Novice Pattern Dance Test

Intermediate Novice Pattern Dance Test

Advanced Novice Pattern Dance Test

Junior Pattern Dance Test

Senior Bronze Pattern Dance Test

Senior Silver Pattern Dance Test

Senior Gold Pattern Dance Test

Basic Novice Competitive Dance Test

Intermediate Novice Competitive Dance Test

Advanced Novice Competitive Dance Test

Junior Competitive Dance Test

Senior Competitive Dance Test

Dance Test Flowchart

Ice Dance Patterns



Rocker Foxtrot

Tea-Time Foxtrot

Swing Dance

Dutch Waltz

Willow Waltz

European Waltz

American Waltz

Westminster Waltz

Viennese Waltz

Austrian Waltz

Starlight Waltz

Ravensburger Waltz

Golden Waltz


Maple Leaf March

Yankee Polka



Paso Doble


Rhumba D'Amor

Cha Cha Congelado

Silver Samba

Tango Fiesta

Tango Canasta

Argentine Tango

Tango Romantics

Rhythm Blues Tango

Midnight Blues

Cha Cha


Riverside Rhumba